Switch language to english
Switch language to english
Register
Log On
ProjektTing by Dynamic Development GmbH

In this video, I will show you what was missing after the first one so that you are in a position to safely handle projects with ProjektTing.

For this I take the example of the company moving again. The project has made some progress, the project team has grown, and it is constantly working on the project. Although I am still a project manager for this project, I also have other tasks to do and would therefore like to disable immediate notifications for changes to the project via email. Instead, it's enough for me to be informed once a day about all the news from the project. In order to adjust this, I click on “Edit Your Account”.

Here I can change my account information, such as phone number, photo and so on. But there is another tab labelled "Your Settings".

In this tab, I see my “General Settings”. These settings apply to all projects. But what can I set at all?

I can choose whether I want to never be informed, immediately informed, or informed daily. I can choose this separately for new comments, new files, tasks assigned to me, or new tasks.

But as I said, that is the general settings. Actually, I would like to be informed but not immediately only in the project “Company Moving”. To achieve this, I click on the plus button and select the project for which I want to make the settings. So I choose “Company Moving”. Here I choose that I want to be informed daily and save this.

Now, in addition to the general settings, I also have special settings for the project “Company Moving”. So if I would like to change it again, I would have to choose the settings to change from the drop-down list. But I am already finished with my settings.

In my Dashboard I saw that my boss Mr. Müller has assigned me a new task. So I go back to the Dashboard and look at what will be my new job.

Ok, Mr. Müller wants a limited amount of employees to have access to the folder "broker" in the file system of the project. There are contracts that should not be seen by all project members. To customize the permissions for the folder I have to adjust the roles in the project. For this purpose I change to the team tab and select the menu item "Manage Roles".

Here I get a list of all roles in this project. Each team member is assigned to one role. This role defines exactly which permissions the team member has in this project.

At present there is only a project manager role and a team role. The broker belongs to the team role. I want the members of the team role not to have access to the “broker” folder, but the broker should keep his access rights to this folder.

So I start creating a new role only for the broker.

Clicking the "Add Role" button opens a window where I can choose from which existing role the rights of the new role should be copied. I pick the team role and click on "Create". In the list appears the new role that I open for editing.

First, I rename the role to "broker". Since I have copied the role, the rights are set exactly in this role as in the role of team.

That is, members of this role can create new folders in the file system and upload files. Members may not manage the task states, but can create new tasks. They can´t delete tasks, but they can see the tasks of which they are not involved. But these tasks cannot be changed.

In the project area this role has no rights. The members of this role can´t alter the project start page, nor change the status of a project.

The status of a project is used to mark a project as complete or paused. In this case, the project can no longer be changed, but you will not be charged for the project any more. The broker may not decide this, add new users to the project, edit the roles or edit the project phases. Furthermore, she is not allowed to create entries in the project calendar.

After saving the new role we have to assign it to the broker. For this we go back to the team overview and change the role on the card of Mrs Stein.

Now we just have to go to the folder "broker" and adjust the rights for the folder.

For this we select the folder and click on the lock. Now we see the indication that there are no rights to this folder. This means that everyone in the folder has all rights. I click on “Add Rights” and get a list of the roles.

First, I select the role "project manager" to set the corresponding rights. The project managers should be allowed to edit the folder, view its content, upload files, and edit files. Once the "Update" button is clicked, the rights are in place.

Now I´m doing the same for the role “broker”. As you can see in the list, the team has no rights in this folder. All members of this role can no longer see the folders or their content at all.

So I go back to my task and set its state to "Done".

In the tasks list, you can see a few things that have been done in this project in order to make the project clearer.

First, the project has been divided into three phases. If an agile project methodology had been selected during the creation of the project, there would be sprints and not phases.

But in this project we have three phases. • Planning • Moving • After Moving

For each phase a target date can be set. If this is selected, an appointment is automatically added in the project calendar with this date. These appointments are then immediately visible to all members of the project via their dashboard.

In the calendar itself, every day with an appointment is shown in bold. The calendar’s look and feel corresponds to an Outlook calendar. You can create appointments and recurring appointments. These are visible to all project participants.

The fact that there are phases in this project and each task is assigned to a phase makes the task list even clearer. One can, for example, by dragging the column “phase” to the column header, group all tasks by their phases. This works for even more fields. The project members have assigned additional groups to their tasks. If I drag the “groups” column to the header, I see all the tasks in the project are grouped according to the phase and the group.

Groups can be assigned and created in the task form.

In this project, for example, the project members have assigned company departments to each task using the group field. This can be done by typing something in this field, or selecting a group from the existing entries in this project.

At the end of this video, I want to say a few words to the task states. Each task has always been assigned a state. But depending on the type of project, different states are often needed. Because of this, you can simply create a new state, or delete a state you don´t need.

Each state has a name and another important field. The checkbox "is final". With this field you specify whether a task is done, if this status is set or not. This is needed to filter the tasks. But one can also adjust the colour for the state. I can select the font colour and the background colour. In this way, I can highlight tasks in a special state. I'm now changing the background colour of the state “new” to orange and then saving this information.

Back in the task list, I can now easily recognize all new tasks.

After watching this video, you know all the tools to run a project on ProjektTing on your own. You can register without obligation and use ProjektTing three months for free. There are no costs and you have no obligation to continue using it. Costs will arise only when you use the "buy project months" buttons in the company administration area. Here, you get prepaid project months for further use.

Try it out. You will be amazed.